This is me

This is me
Walking free
Free as I can be

Autism is with me
Not a friend
But not an enemy
It’s just part of me

The sun is warm on my face and neck
It’s bright for my eyes
I look to the ground and watch my feet move
The repetitive rhythm finds me
The breeze tickles my hair
It feels nice
Like a hand of reassurance

Let me have this moment autism
Let me be as free as I can be

I wave my arms to soothe myself
My moving fingers make shadows with the light
Autism is with me but I’m alright

I hear the sounds all around me
All at once like a bee buzzing
Buzzing all around me
The sound of the water
A dog splashes as it runs
Birds above me
Crunching of the ground
I hear my brothers laugh
I like that sound
I smile

Let me have this moment autism
Let me be as free as I can be

I feel the ground under my feet
The mounds of grass
The roundness of the stones
Splash of a puddle
A dog runs past
My breath quickens
Autism is with me
But I’m alright

I hear voices
A car in the distance
A bird calls
Snap of a twig
A giggle
Splash
I hear mummy and daddy
I know that sound
They are with me
They say I’m strong
Autism is here but I’m alright

I know this place
I know this smell
I know the sound the water makes
Autism is here but I’m alright

Autism is with me
Not a friend
But not an enemy
It’s part of me

I am autistic
It’s part of me
I am me

As free as I can be

#autismawareness
#autismunderstanding
#autismacceptanceIMG_20161008_185902.jpg

Leave a Reply

